The Seven Chakras

The word “chakra” comes up in some complementary and alternative medicine practices. It can be confusing if you don’t know what it means. So what are chakras? Here’s a summary of what the seven chakras are all about.

Your body hears everything your mind says.” Naomi Judd

Centers of energy

The word chakra comes from Sanskrit, an ancient language. A chakra is like an invisible spinning wheel of energy. Our bodies have seven main ones and many minor ones.

Harmonious energy flow

The seven chakras, or centers of energy, run down the midline of the body. Energy flows through them and when all the chakras are open and balanced, the systems of our body-mind work together harmoniously.

Each chakra has a function.

Chakra energy is always there but shows up in different ways. The seven chakras are interconnected and affect one another, but each chakra has a specific function. An open and balanced chakra operates on love, wisdom and compassion. An unbalance chakra may be operating from fear or greed or jealousy or other negative emotions.

The seven chakras are openings for consciousness to enter into the physical realm. They run on our subconscious and unconscious intentions which show up in the physical world.


Chakra Seven: The Crown Chakra (Purple)

The Crown Chakra is located at the top of the head and is related to the pineal gland, nervous system, and brain. It is a portal of heightened awareness, divine purpose, and destiny.

Associated problems: Psychological problems, depression, confusion

Positive personality traits: Inspirational, humanitarian, visionary, creative


Chakra Six: The Third Eye  (Indigo)

The Third Eye Chakra is located on the forehead just above the center of the eyebrows and is related to the pituitary gland. It is a conduit for inner vision, intuition, telepathy, wisdom, and charisma. 

Associated problems: Lack of foresight, rigidity of thought, depression

Positive personality traits: Intuitive, fearless, practical, idealistic


Chakra Five: The Throat Chakra (Blue)

The Throat Chakra is located at the base of the throat and is related to the thyroid gland, esophagus, ears, throat, jaws, teeth and neck.  It is concerned with communication., creativity , self-expression, and transformation. 

Associated problems: Communication problems, creative blocks

Positive personality traits: Loyal, tactful, affectionate, caring


Chakra Four: The Heart Chakra (Green)

The Heart Chakra is located in the center of the chest and is related to the heart, lungs, and thymus gland. It is a concerned with love and relationships, and self-acceptance.

Associated problems: Heart and lung diseases, the immune system, lack of compassion

Positive personality traits: Adaptable, compassionate, generous, romantic


Chakra Three: The Solar Plexus (Yellow)

The Solar Plexus Chakra is located midway between the navel and base of the sternum and is related to the pancreas, the digestive system, muscles and adrenals. It is a conduit of energy, personal power, ambition, achievement, joy, and confidence..

Associated problemsAnger, frustration, victimhood

Positive personality traits:  Optimistic, confident, practical, intellectual


Chakra Two: The Sacral Chakra (Orange)

The Sacral Chakra is located at the center of the abdomen between the navel and the spine. It is related to the endocrine glands, sexual organs ,bladder, circulatory system and is concerned with  joy, sexuality, pleasure, creativity and a balanced connection with other people.

Associated problems: Obsessive behavior, emotional problems

Positive personality traitsEnthusiastic, sociable, energetic, self-assured,  creative


Chakra One: the Root Chakra (Red)

The Root Chakra is located at the base of the spine and is related to the adrenal glands, kidneys, bladder, bones, large intestine, hips, legs, and feet. It is associated with the fight or flight response, and is a conduit of survival, safety, self-confidence, and strength.

Associated problems: Fear, procrastination, paranoia

Positive personality traits: Confident, courageous, strong-willed, spontaneous, honest, extroverted

It’s all one: a body-mind.

We don’t have a body and a mind separate from each other. We have a body-mind. Our emotions, beliefs, ideas, attitudes…our very thoughts play a part in how our bodies operate.

So take a look at your thoughts. Making changes from negative to positive is important for your well-being on both the emotional and physical levels. The physical includes not just you body, but the body of your affairs in this physical world we live in.

Become your best self !
Become your best self !


Make the most of your life and fulfill all your dreams.Learn the secrets of success that most people NEVER discover in their lifetime. Get the ebook!